New Legislation That Will Affect Your Wallet

I’ll be honest. I hadn’t been paying much attention to the new credit card legislation. I figured it wouldn’t actually affect me that much, since I always pay my credit card bill on time and in full (which everyone should do in the first place as paying 18% interest on credit card debt really is not the best use of your money).

The big piece of good news is that credit card companies are required to inform me of any major changes in my rewards programs. Besides that, what this new legislation means to us, never-late-full-balance-payers, is still unclear. The WSJ reasoned, along the lines of the threats coming from the credit card companies themselves, that rewards programs will have to be trimmed down to compensate for the loss in revenue due to the new legislation. Personally, I recently noticed that Discover raised the minimum amount of accumulated cash back that I can redeem for a check or credit from $20 to $50 (that is, my accumulated cash back will sit with them for longer until I can actually get a hold of it).

According to NY Times, however, the new bill might also lead credit card companies to focus more on their rewards programs to get people to spend more money. This also makes perfect business sense, since I am the best kind of customer. I help them collect revenue from vendors by spending money on my card and I am never behind in my monthly payments. Hopefully, they’ll keep that in mind when they think about their rewawrds program. The legislation will not kill competition between cards, and if my card’s rewards program goes dry, I could always take my spending elsewhere.

One Response

  1. Great site and nice article really like what its talking about, I will be linking back to your site from mine.

Leave a Reply

